Overlooking the narrow gorges of Lézert its rocky outcrop, the ruins of Castle Castelmary still testify to the rich history of these places in the Middle Ages. Possession of Castelmary of 11 in the 14th century and then Morlhons Vergnes, the fortress was captured by the English, and Jean d'Armagnac besieged it in 1369. The lordship then went to the family and in 1774 the Lagarde Puel Parlan were the last lords of Castelmary. They had bought the barony of Castelmary for 115,700 pounds to the family of the Guard. His fate continued hectic at the end of the 18th, in February 1789 during the explosion of violence that gripped the Segala eight months after the Great Fear.
Today there are only a few walls that are now private. The remains of the church are now crossing the path that bypasses the village entrance and the main tower
The site is listed in the inventory of buildings in France.
Today the economy of the town based on agriculture: cattle, pig, poultry and grain crops for home consumption.
Castelmary called the name of his castle, the town has yet its town hall in the hamlet of Lavernhe, one of the two parishes of the municipality with the Plancade.